Sharon Robinson

President Emerita, American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education

Sharon RobinsonSharon Robinson, Ed.D, is president emerita of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE). A lifelong civil rights activist with a strong commitment to high-quality teaching, rigorous scholarship, and diversity in the nation’s teaching workforce, Dr. Robinson has waged a personal crusade to realize the nation’s moral and professional responsibility to educate and maximize the potential of minority and disabled students.

Dr. Robinson was formerly president of the Educational Testing Service's (ETS) Educational Policy Leadership Institute. While at ETS, she also served as senior vice president and chief operating officer, and as vice president for teaching and learning and for state and federal relations. Before joining ETS, Dr. Robinson was assistant secretary of education with the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement (now the Institute of Education Sciences). She also held a variety of leadership positions at the National Education Association, including director of the National Center for Innovation, NEA's research and development arm.

Dr. Robinson received her doctorate in educational administration and supervision from the University of Kentucky, where she also earned her bachelor's and master's degrees. In 2002, she completed the renowned Harvard Business School Advanced Management Program.

She serves on the board of directors for the Phi Delta Kappa Educational Foundation, and Jobs for America's Graduates. She is past chair of the Diversity Issues in Measurement Committee, National Council for Measurement in Education.

Among her many awards are an honorary doctorate from the University of Louisville, the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Kentucky, the Award of Appreciation from the National Head Start Association, the Founders Award from the National Commission for African American Education, the Teacher for America Award from the Rockefeller Foundation-supported Recruiting New Teachers Inc., and the Woman of Distinction Award from Girl Scouts.