U.S. Professors of the Year

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

2013 Professors of the Year

Outstanding Baccalaureate Colleges Professor: Ann Williams
Outstanding Community Colleges Professor: Robert Chaney
Outstanding Doctoral and Research Universities Professor: Steven Pollock
Outstanding Master’s Universities and Colleges Professor: Gintaras Duda

  • Learn more about the winning Professors of the Year, including links to their teaching statements, student introductions, and acceptance speeches.
  • Read the news release.

State Professors of the Year
were also recognized in 31 states and the District of Columbia.


The U.S. Professors of the Year Award Program was created in 1981 to increase awareness of the importance of undergraduate instruction at all types of higher education institutions. The program recognizes faculty members for their achievement as undergraduate professors. The Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) began the Professors of the Year program with the Carnegie Foundation hosting the final round of judging. The Carnegie Foundation sponsors the cash award given to U.S. national winners.

In 1994, the program began awarding national winners in four categories based on the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. CASE renamed the award after Carnegie that year because of its historic involvement with the practice and the scholarship of teaching.

The State Professors of the Year Award Program selects outstanding educators in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, provided there are winning entries. Winners receive personalized award certificates and receive national and local media recognition.

Both national and state winners are chosen on the basis of their extraordinary dedication to undergraduate teaching, determined by excellence in the following four areas: impact on and involvement with undergraduate students; scholarly approach to teaching and learning; contributions to undergraduate education in the institution, community and profession; and support from colleagues and current and former undergraduate students.

More information

Learn more about the U.S. Professors of the Year Award Program:

Contact: professorsoftheyear@case.org.